Houston's Ed Oliver was selected as the American Athletic Conference defensive player of the year, the conference announced Wednesday.

Oliver, a sophomore from Westfield, has been one of the premier defensive players in the nation the last two seasons.

This season, Oliver played through a knee injury during the final two months and was constantly faced with double- and triple-teams as opponents tried to neutralize him. Even so, Oliver finished the regular season with 69 tackles with 14.5 tackles for loss, 5.5 sacks, seven quarterback hurries and two forced fumbles from the nose spot in a three-man front that generally does not usually provide stat-stuffing opportunities.

Oliver is a finalist for the Outland Trophy and Bronko Nagurski Trophy.

Oliver is the third UH player in school history to be a conference's top defensive player, joining Wayne Rogers (2000) and Phillip Hunt (2008), who won the award in Conference USA.

Senior linebacker D'Juan Hines, who had a career-high 104 tackles, was also named to the AAC first-team defense.

Latest College Sports Highlights

Safety Khalil Williams was selected to the second team, while wide receiver Steven Dunbar and safety Terrell Williams were named honorable mention.